Visit our YouTube Channel
Subscribe to Our Blog
Make a Donation

Lhabab Duchen: The Eight Mahayana Precepts

All times are MDT: Santa Fe – New Mexico – USA  |  Local time:

Area of Study:



Lhabab Duchen: The Eight Mahayana Precepts

Lhabab Duchen is one of the four great holy days of the Tibetan calendar, which commemorates the Buddha’s descent from the God Realm of the Thirty-Three, after teaching Dharma for several months to the gods, including his mother, Mayadevi, who had died a week after the Buddha’s birth and been reborn there.  Any actions done on this day, both auspicious and harmful, are magnified in their power. Karmic results are multiplied by one hundred million, as cited by Lama Zopa Rinpoche in the vinaya text Treasure of Quotations and Logic.

Eight Mahayana Precepts Ceremony

Normally, one takes precepts if one has already had the transmission from a lineage holder.  If you haven’t taken precepts from a lineage holder, it is still good if you join since it is an auspicious occasion and creates positive imprints.  The Eight Mahayana Precepts are a set of vows that are taken for 24 hours, from first light before dawn to sunrise of the following day.  It is good to take them on full and new moon days, and especially beneficial on Buddha Holy Days, when Karmic results are multiplied exponentionally, according to Lama Zopa Rinpoche, citing the Vinaya text Treasure of Quotations and Logic.

These Mahayana Precepts enable you to live in the essence of pure moral conduct, and since you take them with the strong motivation of cherishing and wishing to benefit all others, their value is immeasurable. Taking these precepts is a powerful and effective way for you to build, maintain and increase deep propensities for spiritual practice and attainment and thus is a profound method for giving meaning to this precious human life.

The essence of this practice is to recall the Mahayana motivation; to take these precepts in order to become enlightened in order to lead all sentient beings to enlightenment.

Materials Link

The eight precepts are:

1.    Not to kill, even insects.

2.    Not to steal (Not to take what is not offered).

3.    Not to engage in sexual contact.

4.    Not to lie.

5.    Not to use intoxicants: alcohol, tobacco and drugs (except for medicinal purposes).

6.    Not to eat at wrong times*.

7.    Not to sit on high, expensive beds or seats with pride. Avoid sitting on animal skins.

8.    Not to wear jewelry, perfume, or makeup; and not to sing, dance, or play music with attachment.

It is alright to eat a light breakfast before or after the precepts. Avoid eating black foods: meat, eggs, onions, garlic, and radishes. The main meal of the day is to be finished by midday. After that, one can take light drinks, but not undiluted whole milk or fruit juice with pulp, nor any other food until sunrise of the following day.

Join the class

Join this class

Join the class

I am a member

I want to be
a member

For $50 a month you can attend all our events: classes, meditations, pujas, weekend intensives, Saturday workshops — everything!

I want to donate for this class


I won't make
a donation
for now

Share This